8 providersAll prices in GBPPrices checked

Compare AI Phone Answering in the United Kingdom

Compare AI phone answering services for UK businesses. See what each plan really costs once your calls run past the included allowance, and which vendors can actually give you a UK number.

Updated
Filters
Zoom Virtual Agent logoZoom Virtual AgentSimple Phones logoSimple PhonesClara logoClaraHey Jodie logoHey JodieRingmere logoRingmereTeam-Connect logoTeam-ConnectARROW logoARROWLucroVox logoLucroVox
Est. Cost /mo (GBP)£24/mo100 minutesCheapest£37/moBasic£40/moClara£49/moBasic£49/moStarter£55/moLite£99/moStarter£159/moStarter
Plans & Pricing
£23.99/mo (100 minutes)£37/mo (Basic)£39.99/mo (Clara)£49/mo (Basic)£49/mo (Starter)Best£19.99/mo (Lite)£99/mo£159/mo (Starter)
True monthlyTrue monthlyTrue monthlyTrue monthlyTrue monthlyTrue monthlyTrue monthlyTrue monthly
100, 250 or 500 voice minutesUp to 100 calls a month (Basic), 500 (Advanced), 2,500 (Premium)No fixed cap (fair use applies)Unlimited minutes150 call minutes (Starter), 240 (Growth), 700 (Pro)30 AI minutes (Lite), 250 (Business Pro), 750 (Enterprise)150 minutes100 calls, 500 min (Starter) up to 2,000 calls, 10,000 min (Enterprise)
£24 per 100-minute packNone. Service stops at the call capNone, no allowance to exceedNone, minutes are unlimited£0.25 a minute (Starter, Growth), £0.20 (Pro)Prepaid packs from £34.99 for 150 minutes50p a minute (confirmed by the vendor)Not published, though the terms say it is charged
Not stated either wayNot stated either wayNot stated either wayNoneNot stated either wayNot stated either wayNot stated either wayNot stated either way
Yes, length not publishedYes, 14 daysYes, 7 daysYes, 7 days, no card neededYes, 14 daysYes, length not publishedNo, a demo line and conditional refundYes, 14 days, and 30 days on the top plan
Monthly, or annual at a lower rateMonthlyMonthly, or yearly at 15% offNoneMonthlyNone, cancel anytimeNoneMonthly, billed in advance
What the AI Does
Answers FAQs, books appointments, captures leads, routes callsBooking, messages and answers on every planAnswering, custom greetings and outbound calls; Pro adds text follow-upsMessages, recordings and lead qualification; booking from ProfessionalBooking and lead capture; 30+ languages and WhatsApp from GrowthAnswering, voicemail-to-text, transfers and booking; CRM from Business ProFully managed: answers, qualifies leads and sends you the detailsAnswering, booking and lead capture for trades and services
Yes, with Google, Microsoft and CalendlyYes, on every planNot published on any planYes, on Professional and above. Not on Basic.Yes, on every planYes, listed on LiteYesYes
Yes, to a person or team, with contextYes, to your team or other numbersNo, not on any plan you can buyYes, on Professional and above. Not on Basic.No, email escalation onlyYes, live transfer listed on LiteYes, to you, or takes a messageYes, to your team, or takes a message
No, transfers go to your own teamNo, transfers go to your own teamNoNoNo, escalation is by emailYes, on Enterprise onlyNo, handoffs go to your own teamNo, transfers go to your own team
Calls & Coverage
Yes, or keep your phone systemYes, included (UK and Australia covered)Yes, a Clara number, or forward yoursNo, you forward your existing numberYes, free UK number, or keep yoursYes, 2 to 10 UK numbers by planYes, UK only, or keep your ownNot stated; forward your existing number
Yes, 24/7—Yes, 24/7Yes, 24/7Yes, 24/7Yes, 24/7Yes, 24/7Yes, 24/7
English, Spanish and 10+ others1, 5 or 20 languages by plan——30+ languages on Growth and above———
Integrations & Support
Google, Microsoft, Calendly and Zoom calendars; SMS——Zapier on the higher tiersWhatsApp on Growth and aboveCRM and webhooks on Business Pro and above; API access on EnterpriseCRM (unnamed); details by SMS or email—
Yes, GBPNo, US dollars (converted here)Yes, GBPYes, GBPYes, GBP excluding VATYes, GBPYes, GBPYes, GBP
Estimates based on £15,000/mo volume. Rates can change without notice, confirm current pricing with the provider before signing on.
How we calculate this
  • Estimated cost: each provider’s published prices and rates applied to the inputs you set above (such as volume, team size, or invoices), plus any fixed monthly fees.
  • Providers with an incomplete cost and quote-only providers are never ranked as the cheapest while a complete-cost option exists.
  • These are estimates. Published rates can change and your final pricing depends on your business, so confirm current pricing with the provider before switching.

Key takeaways

  • Vendors do not meter the same thing. Ringmere includes 150 call minutes (Starter), 240 (Growth), 700 (Pro). Simple Phones counts calls instead: Up to 100 calls a month (Basic), 500 (Advanced), 2,500 (Premium).
  • Going over the allowance is a charge with some vendors and a cutoff with others. Simple Phones states: None. Service stops at the call cap
  • A recording of a customer call is personal data under UK GDPR, and you, not the vendor, are responsible for telling callers. Every service here transcribes by design.

How we compare AI phone answering

We list 8 AI phone answering services sold to UK businesses. Every figure comes from the vendor's own pricing page. Where a vendor publishes a floor for its largest tier rather than a price, we treat it as a floor and build no plan out of it.

The calculator asks for calls a month and your average call length, and multiplies the two into minutes. For each vendor it costs the published plans, picks the cheapest one whose allowance covers that usage, and adds the vendor's published overage rate where one exists. Above the top published plan it shows a quote rather than an invented figure. Commission does not change the order.

Minutes or calls: the unit AI phone answering bills in

The monthly prices sit in one column while being counted in different things. Some vendors meter talk time in minutes, some meter answered calls, and some meter nothing and charge a flat fee however hard the phone rings.

ProviderEntry plan /moContract
ARROW£99/moNone
Clara£39.99/mo (Clara)Monthly, or yearly at 15% off
Hey Jodie£49/mo (Basic)None
LucroVox£159/mo (Starter)Monthly, billed in advance
Ringmere£49/mo (Starter)Monthly
Simple Phones£37/mo (Basic)Monthly
Team-Connect£19.99/mo (Lite)None, cancel anytime

What each entry price includes, in the vendor's own terms:

  • ARROW: 150 minutes
  • Clara: No fixed cap (fair use applies)
  • Hey Jodie: Unlimited minutes
  • LucroVox: 100 calls, 500 min (Starter) up to 2,000 calls, 10,000 min (Enterprise)
  • Ringmere: 150 call minutes (Starter), 240 (Growth), 700 (Pro)
  • Simple Phones: Up to 100 calls a month (Basic), 500 (Advanced), 2,500 (Premium)
  • Team-Connect: 30 AI minutes (Lite), 250 (Business Pro), 750 (Enterprise)

Hold your call volume still and change only the average call length: the minute-metered bills climb once longer calls use up the allowance, while the bills metered only on calls, and the flat-fee ones, stay where they were. Long quote calls burn a minute allowance; short "are you open today" calls waste a per-call tier. Which service is cheapest for you depends on how long your calls run, not just how many arrive.

You do not have to guess the length. Business mobile and VoIP accounts itemise inbound calls with a duration. Take a normal month, count only the calls the AI would actually take (missed, out of hours, unknown numbers), and divide. Ask the vendor what counts as a minute, because ringing, hold and whole-minute rounding are not obviously talk time.

What AI phone answering charges when the allowance runs out

Exceeding your allowance is several different events, not one event with different prices:

  • ARROW: 50p a minute (confirmed by the vendor)
  • Clara: None, no allowance to exceed
  • Hey Jodie: None, minutes are unlimited
  • LucroVox: Not published, though the terms say it is charged
  • Ringmere: £0.25 a minute (Starter, Growth), £0.20 (Pro)
  • Simple Phones: None. Service stops at the call cap
  • Team-Connect: Prepaid packs from £34.99 for 150 minutes

A per-minute charge is a bigger invoice you can see afterwards. A prepaid pack means the smallest step past your allowance is a whole pack. A cutoff means calls stop being answered in your best week of the year. And where the rate is not published, get it in writing before you sign. Size the plan against a busy month, not an average one.

UK numbers and sterling pricing for AI phone answering

A UK caller reads the number before anything else. An unfamiliar or overseas prefix is the one that goes unanswered when your receptionist rings back an hour later. Vendors take different positions, and it is not a feature tick:

  • ARROW: Yes, UK only, or keep your own
  • Clara: Yes, a Clara number, or forward yours
  • Hey Jodie: No, you forward your existing number
  • LucroVox: Not stated; forward your existing number
  • Ringmere: Yes, free UK number, or keep yours
  • Simple Phones: Yes, included (UK and Australia covered)
  • Team-Connect: Yes, 2 to 10 UK numbers by plan

Forwarding your existing number is a real advantage if it is printed on a van and four directory listings. A supplied number is the advantage if you want a second line.

Currency is not cosmetic either. Simple Phones' local pricing row reads No, US dollars (converted here). A subscription set in US dollars moves with the exchange rate even when the vendor changes nothing, and your card issuer may add a fee. The other rows read as sterling rate cards. Check the VAT basis while you are there, because a rate card can be quoted either way: Ringmere states its basis alongside its currency, Yes, GBP excluding VAT.

Transfers, bookings and the limits of AI phone answering

Every service here that states its hours answers around the clock, and the answering is done by AI, not by a person. What separates them is what happens when the caller needs one:

  • ARROW: Yes, to you, or takes a message
  • Clara: No, not on any plan you can buy
  • Hey Jodie: Yes, on Professional and above. Not on Basic.
  • LucroVox: Yes, to your team, or takes a message
  • Ringmere: No, email escalation only
  • Simple Phones: Yes, to your team or other numbers
  • Team-Connect: Yes, live transfer listed on Lite

Transfer to whom is the second question. Team-Connect is the only row that lists vendor-supplied humans, and only on one tier: Yes, on Enterprise only. Everywhere else, any handoff reaches you or your own team. If you were shopping for a traditional answering bureau with staff on the end of it, that is the distinction that matters most.

Booking avoids the callback entirely, and for a plumber or a dental practice a booked slot is the outcome:

ProviderBooks appointments
ARROWYes
ClaraNot published on any plan
Hey JodieYes, on Professional and above. Not on Basic.
LucroVoxYes
RingmereYes, on every plan
Simple PhonesYes, on every plan
Team-ConnectYes, listed on Lite

Call recording and UK GDPR when AI phone answering picks up

An AI receptionist transcribes by design. The call is captured, converted to text, run through a model, stored and pushed on to you. A recording of a customer call is personal data, and so is the transcript. Under UK GDPR and the Data Protection Act 2018 you, not the vendor, decide why the call is processed, and you carry the duty to tell callers. The fixes are ordinary: an announcement at the start of the call, a line in your privacy notice, and a real answer to why the recording exists.

Then it travels. Integrations copy the transcript into other systems, so every hop is another copy of a customer's voice. None of this is legal advice. Put these questions to the vendor in writing before you sign, and set the answers beside the ICO's guidance or your own adviser:

  • How are callers told, in what words, and does the announcement play before the AI starts listening?
  • How long are recordings and transcripts kept, and can you set that? Indefinite retention by default is the thing to change on day one.
  • Where is the audio stored and processed, and by which sub-processors?
  • Is there a written processor agreement, and does it cover deletion on termination?
  • Can one caller's record be found and deleted on request?

Test all of it with real calls before you commit:

ProviderFree trial
ARROWNo, a demo line and conditional refund
ClaraYes, 7 days
Hey JodieYes, 7 days, no card needed
LucroVoxYes, 14 days, and 30 days on the top plan
RingmereYes, 14 days
Simple PhonesYes, 14 days
Team-ConnectYes, length not published

Ring your own line during the trial, ask the awkward question a real customer would ask, then read the transcript it produced.

Browse all AI Phone Answering in our directory

Not sure which AI phone answering service is right for you?

Almost every plan here bundles a set number of calls or minutes, so the cheapest option flips the moment you run past that allowance. Tell us your call volume and we can help you work out which one actually fits.