15 providersAll prices in GBPPrices checked

Compare Email Marketing in the United Kingdom

Compare email marketing platforms for UK businesses. See pricing at your list size, automation features, e-commerce integrations, and UK SMS support side by side, all in GBP.

Updated
Need automation?
Filters
Brevo logoBrevoEmailOctopus logoEmailOctopusKit logoKitTranspond logoTranspondSpreeflo logoSpreefloMailerLite logoMailerLiteActiveCampaign logoActiveCampaignOmnisend logoOmnisendAWeber logoAWeberHubSpot logoHubSpotMailchimp logoMailchimpKlaviyo logoKlaviyoDrip logoDripCampaign Monitor logoCampaign MonitorDotdigital logoDotdigital
Est. Cost /mo (GBP)£0/moFreeCheapest£0/moStarter (free)Cheapest£0/moNewsletterCheapest£7/moStarter£10/moStarter£13/moComfort£13/moStarter£15/moStandard£16/moLite£18/moStarter£20/moEssentials£22/moEmail£29/moDrip£38/moLite
Ratings
4.6Capterra (3,204)4.8Capterra (653)4.6Capterra (236)4.6Capterra (78)—4.7Capterra (2,273)4.6Capterra (2,561)4.7Capterra (833)4.4Capterra (321)4.4G2 (13,599)4.5Capterra (17,624)4.6Capterra (528)4.4Capterra (188)4.5Capterra (503)4.4G2 (1,179)
Pricing & Plans
FreeStarter (free)NewsletterStarterStarterComfortStarterStandardLiteStarterEssentialsEmailDripLiteCustom
Per email volumePer subscriberPer subscriberPer active contactPer marketing contactPer subscriberPer contactPer subscriberPer subscriberPer seatPer contactPer active profilePer subscriberPer subscriberCustom (quote-based)
£5/mo (Starter)£9/mo (Pro)Best£0 (free to 10K)£7.20/mo (Starter)£10/mo (Starter)£8/mo (Comfort)£13/mo (Starter)£12/mo (Standard)£9/mo (Lite)£18/seat/mo (Starter)£10/mo (Essentials)£15/mo (Email)£29/mo£11/mo (Lite)—
Unlimited contacts (billed by sends)Active subscribersActive subscribersActive contacts (fair use: 12x contacts /mo in sends)Peak marketing contacts in the month (non-marketing contacts and form responses unlimited and uncounted)Active subscribersAll contacts (active + inactive)All contacts including non-subscribersActive subscribers (unsubscribes excluded)Contacts cap which plan you can buy; the price is per seatAll contacts including unsubscribedActive profiles only (excludes suppressed)Active subscribersAll subscribed contactsCustom (negotiated by volume)
Yes (300 emails /day, unlimited contacts)Yes (2,500 subscribers, 10,000 emails /mo)Yes (10K subscribers, 1 automation, no A/B)Yes (250 contacts, 3,000 sends /mo, no automation)No (forms only)Yes (250 contacts, 2,500 emails /mo)No (14-day trial)Yes (250 contacts, 500 emails, 60 SMS /mo)No (14-day trial)Yes (free marketing tools, up to 2 users)Yes (250 contacts, 500 sends /mo)Yes (250 profiles, 500 emails /mo)No (14-day trial)No (free trial)No (demo / contact sales)
Email Marketing Features
Basic (Starter), Advanced (Business+)Basic (time-based, Pro)Basic (Free), Advanced (Creator+)Unlimited (Growth+)Yes (Starter+)Basic (Comfort), Advanced (Power)Advanced (Plus+); Basic (Starter)Advanced (Pro); Basic (Standard)Basic (Lite), Advanced (Plus)Basic (Starter), Advanced omni-channel (Professional+)Basic (Essentials), Advanced (Standard+)Advanced (flows, triggers, predictive on every paid plan)Advanced (visual workflow builder on every plan)Basic (Lite), Advanced (Essentials+)Advanced (omnichannel, AI)
Shopify, WooCommerce, PrestaShop, MagentoShopify, WooCommerce (via integrations)Shopify, WooCommerceNone native (Stripe, WordPress; stores via Zapier)None published (REST API, webhooks and MCP server only)Shopify, WooCommerce, BigCommerce, SquarespaceShopify, WooCommerce, BigCommerce, MagentoShopify, WooCommerce, BigCommerce, MagentoShopify, WooCommerce, BigCommerceShopify, WooCommerce, BigCommerce, MagentoShopify, WooCommerce, BigCommerce, MagentoShopify (deep native), WooCommerce, BigCommerce, MagentoShopify, WooCommerce, BigCommerce, MagentoShopify, WooCommerce, Magento, SalesforceShopify, Shopify Plus, Adobe Commerce, BigCommerce
Yes (UK supported)NoNoYes (add-on, UK customers only)NoNo (via integrations only)Add-on (paid)Yes (Pro plan only)No (3rd-party integrations only)NoYes (UK SMS, paid add-on)Yes (UK supported, 5 credits/SMS)No (US only)Add-onYes (native, omnichannel)
Advanced (behavioural, transactional)Basic (tags, segments)Basic (tags, segments)Moderate (unlimited audiences, web and event tracking)Yes (nested AND/OR, page activity and events; web push activity on Professional)Moderate (interests, activity, custom fields)Advanced (behavioural, purchase, engagement)Advanced (e-commerce behaviour, purchase data)Moderate (tags, segments; unlimited on Plus)Advanced (Pro+)Moderate (tags, predicted demographics)Very advanced (predictive, purchase behaviour, CLV)Advanced (e-commerce focused, revenue-based)Advanced (behavioural, purchase)Very advanced (RFM, AI, behavioural)
Yes (Business+)Yes (Pro)Yes (Creator Pro only)Yes (A/B split sending, paid plans)Yes (Starter and above)Yes (Comfort+)Yes (all plans)Yes (Standard+)Yes (split testing)YesYes (Standard+)Yes (all paid plans)YesYesYes
YesYesYes (Creator+)No (hosted signup forms only)No (forms and popups only)YesYes (Plus+)Yes (limited)YesYesYesYes (limited)No (no native landing pages)YesYes
Yes (embedded, pop-ups)Yes (embedded, hosted)Yes (embedded, hosted)Yes (embedded and hosted; paid plans only)YesYes (embedded, pop-ups, hosted)Yes (embedded, pop-ups, hosted)Yes (embedded, pop-ups, wheel)Yes (embedded, pop-ups, hosted, AI builder)YesYes (embedded, pop-ups, hosted)Yes (embedded, pop-ups, fly-outs)Yes (embedded, pop-ups)Yes (embedded, hosted)Yes (embedded, pop-ups)
70+40+50+YesYes100+500+250+600+Not stated100+100+50+100+100+
HighHighHighNot statedNo published benchmarkHighVery high (94% in independent tests)HighModerate (strong on Outlook, weaker on Gmail)Not statedHigh (89% in independent tests)Very high (e-commerce specialist)HighHighVery high (enterprise)
AI
Native (Aura)Limited (AI Answers chatbot)Native (AI subject lines)Native (AI Content Assistant, Brand Analyzer)Native (in-app AI assistant, email copy generation, tone of voice; AI personalisation on Professional)Native (AI writing assistant)Native (Active Intelligence)Native (Omnisend AI)Native (AI Writer, Smart Designer)Native (Breeze)Native (Intuit Assist, 20+ AI)Native (Klaviyo AI agents)Limited (optimised sending)Limited (AI Email Booster)Native (WinstonAI)
Native MCP (official)Via 3rd-party (Zapier)Native MCP (official)Via 3rd-party (Zapier)Native MCP (official, hosted, all plans)Native MCP (official, beta)Native MCP (official)Native MCP (official)Native MCP (official)Native MCP (official, beta)Via 3rd-party (Zapier)Native MCP (official)Via 3rd-party (Zapier)Via 3rd-party (community)Via 3rd-party (Zapier)
Integrations & Support
Yes (EU-hosted, consent tools, unsubscribe)Yes (UK-founded, consent tools, unsubscribe)Yes (consent tools, unsubscribe, sender ID)Yes (UK company, DPA, unsubscribe, list cleaning)Yes (DPA on every plan, EU SCCs and UK IDTA, double opt-in; data processed in the US)Yes (EU-hosted, consent tools, unsubscribe)Yes (consent tools, unsubscribe, sender ID)Yes (consent tools, unsubscribe, sender ID)Yes (GDPR DPA, EU SCCs, consent tools)Yes (consent management, subscription types, cookie banners)Yes (consent tools, unsubscribe, sender ID)Yes (consent tools, unsubscribe, sender ID)Yes (consent tools, unsubscribe, sender ID)Yes (consent tools, unsubscribe, sender ID)Yes (UK-HQ, enterprise-grade)
60+20+90+19None published140+870+130+750+1,000+300+350+100+250+150+
YesYesYesYesYesYesYesYes (revenue)YesYesYesYes (revenue)Yes (revenue)YesYes (revenue)
YesYesYesYesYesYesYesYesYesYesYesYesYesYesYes
Business hoursEmailBusiness hoursEmail + knowledge baseEmail and knowledge base (priority chat and email on Professional)Business hours24/7 chatBusiness hours24/7 phone24/7 chatBusiness hoursBusiness hoursBusiness hoursBusiness hoursAccount-managed
NoNoNoNoNoNoNoNoNoNoNoNoNoNoYes
Estimates based on 1,000 subscribers and 5,000 emails/mo, without automation. Rates can change without notice, confirm current pricing with the provider before signing on. Estimates use each free plan where your subscriber count fits, otherwise the cheapest paid tier that covers your list size. Turn on the automation toggle to move providers to their advanced automation tier. Some providers price by monthly email volume rather than contacts, so their cost changes with the Emails /mo input. Enter your current monthly cost to see your savings against each provider.
How we calculate this
  • Estimated cost: each provider’s published prices and rates applied to the inputs you set above (such as volume, team size, or invoices), plus any fixed monthly fees.
  • Providers with an incomplete cost and quote-only providers are never ranked as the cheapest while a complete-cost option exists.
  • These are estimates. Published rates can change and your final pricing depends on your business, so confirm current pricing with the provider before switching.

Key takeaways

  • Some platforms charge for the contacts you store and some for the emails you send. Brevo bills on Unlimited contacts (billed by sends), while ActiveCampaign bills on All contacts (active + inactive).
  • The contacts you pay for are not always the contacts you may email. Mailchimp counts All contacts including unsubscribed; Klaviyo counts Active profiles only (excludes suppressed).
  • Marketing email to UK recipients is governed by PECR as well as UK GDPR. Every platform here carries consent tooling. How you built the list is still your responsibility.

How we compare email marketing software

We list 15 email platforms sold to UK businesses, and a published rate card exists for 14 providers. Every figure comes from the vendor's own pricing page as shown to a UK buyer. Where a vendor quotes instead, the table says so.

The calculator takes your subscriber count, the emails you send in a month, and whether you need automation. Each rate card is costed at those numbers and the table sorts by the result. A platform billed on contacts and one billed on sends can swap places when you change either input, so enter both real numbers. Commission does not change the order.

Which meter your email marketing software runs on

Most of the table charges for the people on your list. Brevo charges for what you send. HubSpot prices per seat and uses contacts to decide which plan you may buy. The second column says what each vendor counts, which matters as much as the meter.

ProviderPricing modelContact billing
ActiveCampaignPer contactAll contacts (active + inactive)
AWeberPer subscriberActive subscribers (unsubscribes excluded)
BrevoPer email volumeUnlimited contacts (billed by sends)
Campaign MonitorPer subscriberAll subscribed contacts
DotdigitalCustom (quote-based)Custom (negotiated by volume)
DripPer subscriberActive subscribers
EmailOctopusPer subscriberActive subscribers
HubSpotPer seatContacts cap which plan you can buy; the price is per seat
KitPer subscriberActive subscribers
KlaviyoPer active profileActive profiles only (excludes suppressed)
MailchimpPer contactAll contacts including unsubscribed
MailerLitePer subscriberActive subscribers
OmnisendPer subscriberAll contacts including non-subscribers
SpreefloPer marketing contactPeak marketing contacts in the month (non-marketing contacts and form responses unlimited and uncounted)
TranspondPer active contactActive contacts (fair use: 12x contacts /mo in sends)

A large list mailed quarterly and a short list mailed daily get opposite answers from the same vendors. Work out which of your two numbers is the awkward one before you shortlist.

The contact billing column is where the invoice and the law pull apart. Where a vendor bills all contacts, someone who unsubscribed still occupies a paid slot until you remove them, and so does a hard-bounced address. List hygiene is therefore a billing control too. Keep the suppression record when you delete the billable profile: it is your only evidence that the person opted out.

Free plans and automation gates in email marketing software

The free tiers here are real, and most cap on more than one axis at once, which is why they run out unexpectedly. Automation is a common feature gate, so a welcome sequence or an abandoned-basket flow can move you onto a paid plan before list growth does.

ProviderFree planAutomation
ActiveCampaignNo (14-day trial)Advanced (Plus+); Basic (Starter)
AWeberNo (14-day trial)Basic (Lite), Advanced (Plus)
BrevoYes (300 emails /day, unlimited contacts)Basic (Starter), Advanced (Business+)
Campaign MonitorNo (free trial)Basic (Lite), Advanced (Essentials+)
DotdigitalNo (demo / contact sales)Advanced (omnichannel, AI)
DripNo (14-day trial)Advanced (visual workflow builder on every plan)
EmailOctopusYes (2,500 subscribers, 10,000 emails /mo)Basic (time-based, Pro)
HubSpotYes (free marketing tools, up to 2 users)Basic (Starter), Advanced omni-channel (Professional+)
KitYes (10K subscribers, 1 automation, no A/B)Basic (Free), Advanced (Creator+)
KlaviyoYes (250 profiles, 500 emails /mo)Advanced (flows, triggers, predictive on every paid plan)
MailchimpYes (250 contacts, 500 sends /mo)Basic (Essentials), Advanced (Standard+)
MailerLiteYes (250 contacts, 2,500 emails /mo)Basic (Comfort), Advanced (Power)
OmnisendYes (250 contacts, 500 emails, 60 SMS /mo)Advanced (Pro); Basic (Standard)
SpreefloNo (forms only)Yes (Starter+)
TranspondYes (250 contacts, 3,000 sends /mo, no automation)Unlimited (Growth+)

Sending is not always unlimited once you have paid for the contacts. Transpond states its allowance as a multiple of the list; where a vendor publishes no multiple, ask before you plan a daily send. If you send one newsletter a month to a few hundred people, you probably do not need to pay yet. Start paying when a specific automation is worth more than its plan.

Email marketing software built in the UK

A handful of platforms here list a UK origin. That buys you a support desk in your timezone and a contract under law you can enforce at home. It does not buy a feature advantage, so read the rest of each row before choosing on principle.

ProviderOriginUK SMS marketing
DotdigitalUnited KingdomYes (native, omnichannel)
EmailOctopusUnited KingdomNo
OmnisendUKYes (Pro plan only)
SpreefloUnited KingdomNo
TranspondUnited KingdomYes (add-on, UK customers only)

Dotdigital sits at the account-managed end: its free plan row reads No (demo / contact sales) and its contract row Yes. EmailOctopus lists segmentation as Basic (tags, segments): a newsletter tool that does its job cheaply, not a marketing suite. Transpond's e-commerce row reads None native (Stripe, WordPress; stores via Zapier), so a shop should read that before the price.

Bulk marketing email to UK recipients is governed by the Privacy and Electronic Communications Regulations as well as UK GDPR, and PECR decides whether you may press send at all. Much of this software was designed for the American market, where you may email a stranger provided you honour the unsubscribe. A platform with US defaults will let you do something here that you should not.

Marketing email to an individual subscriber generally needs consent, with a narrow exception known as the soft opt-in: broadly, you obtained the address in the course of a sale or negotiations for one, you are marketing your own similar products, and you gave a clear chance to refuse at collection and in every message since. Sole traders and unincorporated partnerships are not corporate subscribers, so a "B2B" list of small UK businesses is very often a list of individuals. A bought or scraped list is not consent, and neither is one that arrived with a business you acquired.

Every platform here reads yes in the UK GDPR/PECR tools column, and the qualifier in that cell says what the yes covers. Tooling is not compliance. Ask whether a vendor records the date, source and method of consent per contact, whether double opt-in is on by default, and where the data is processed. The ICO publishes direct marketing guidance; anything turning on your specific list is a question for your own adviser.

A CSV of addresses will import anywhere, and that is the trap. Take four things with you: the consent record against each contact, the suppression list of everyone who unsubscribed or bounced, your subscription categories, and the engagement history. The suppression list is the one people forget and the one that produces a complaint. Confirm it imports before you switch.

Every row in the Contract column reads no contract except Dotdigital, which lists Yes, so you can usually run both platforms in parallel for a month. Set up authentication records for the new sender before volume moves, and send to your most engaged segment first.

Browse all Email Marketing in our directory

Popular Email Marketing comparisons

Independent, side by side breakdowns of the matchups merchants ask about most.

Best Email Marketing for your business

Ranked picks for specific business types, with our live cost calculator.

Email Marketing pricing guides

What each provider actually charges, plan by plan, with cheaper alternatives.

Email Marketing alternatives

Ranked alternatives to the providers merchants are weighing up, with our live cost calculator.

Not sure which email marketing platform is right for your business?

Our team can help you evaluate your options based on your subscriber volume, automation needs, e-commerce platform, and whether you need UK SMS.