10 providersAll prices in GBPPrices checked

Compare Accounting Software in the United Kingdom

Compare accounting software for UK businesses. See subscription costs, Making Tax Digital and VAT compliance, payroll, bank feeds, CIS, and integrations side by side.

Updated
VAT registered
Filters
ANNA Money logoANNA MoneyCrunch logoCrunchQuickFile logoQuickFilePandle logoPandleZoho Books logoZoho BooksFreshBooks logoFreshBooksQuickBooks Online logoQuickBooks OnlineXero logoXeroFreeAgent logoFreeAgentSage logoSage
Est. Cost /mo (GBP)£0/moPay As You GoCheapest£0/moFreeCheapest£0/moFreeCheapest£5/moPro£10/moStandard£16/moLite£16/moSimple Start£18/moIgnite£19/moSole Trader£20/moAccounting Start
Ratings
4.6Trustpilot (4,400)4.5Trustpilot (1,400)4.8Trustpilot (3,076)4.6Trustpilot (1,277)4.4Capterra (673)4.5Capterra (4,518)4.3Capterra (8,460)4.4Capterra (3,299)4.5Capterra (175)4.1Capterra (614)
Plans & Pricing
Free (Pay As You Go)£4/mo (Lite)Free (under threshold)£5/mo (Pro)£10/mo (Standard, annual)£16/mo (Lite)£16/mo (Simple Start)£18/mo (Ignite)£19/mo (Sole Trader)£20/mo (Accounting Start)
✓PAYG✓with ads✓✓core✓under revenue cap✕✕✕✓with NatWest/RBS/Mettle✕
Limited✕✕✕✕✕✓add-on✓✓included✓bundled
1 (PAYG)1 + accountantUnlimitedUnlimited3 (Standard)11 (Simple Start)UnlimitedUnlimited1 (Start)
Basic (1 emp)—N/AN/AN/AN/A£5/mo + £1.50/emp£1.50/emp/mo (£1 Ultimate)IncludedBundled + £1.85/emp/mo
✕✕✕✕✕✕✕✕✕✕
Tax & Compliance
✓✓Plus✓✓✓✓✓✓✓✓
✓✓Plus✓✓Pro✓✕✓✓✓✓
✓✓Plus✓✓Pro✓✓✓✓✓✓
✕✕✕✕✓returns: Professional✕✓✓filing add-on✓✓Standard
✓Add-onLimitedLimited✓✕✓✕✓✕
Native account✓PlusAdd-on (£15/yr)✓✓Standard✓✓✓✓✓
Native (ANNA account)Not stated50+ UK banks (paid feed)UnlimitedUnlimited (Standard+)UnlimitedUnlimitedUnlimitedUnlimitedUnlimited
✓✓✓✓unlimited✓annual caps✓client caps apply✓unlimited20/mo (Ignite)✓✓unlimited
AI
Native (Auto Accountant)Ask Luca AI chat (all tiers); Luca Auto Match reconciliation (Plus)Native (AI Receipt Analysis)Limited (rules-based only)Native (Zia)Native (AI categorisation, OCR)Native (Intuit Assist)Native (JAX)Native (Smart Capture, Radar)Native (Sage Copilot)
API onlyAPI onlyVia 3rd-party (community)API onlyNative MCP (Zoho, official)Via 3rd-party (Zapier)Native MCP (Intuit, early preview)Native MCP (official)Via 3rd-party (Zapier)Via 3rd-party (community)
Features & Integrations
Limited✓✓✓Pro✓ProfessionalLimited✓Essentials✓ComprehensiveLimited✓Plus
✓✓✓✓✓✓Plus✓✓Hubdoc✓10/mo✓Standard
LimitedAdd-on (£25+VAT)✓✓✓free✓Plus✓free✓free✓free✓free
24/7 chatIn-app chatCommunity forumLive chat (Pro)Email / voice / chatPhone + emailPhone + chat24/7 onlineUK phone + emailUK phone
Estimates based on 20 invoices/mo, 1 user and 0 employees. Rates can change without notice, confirm current pricing with the provider before signing on. Estimates cover the subscription plus payroll for your team size, where the provider charges for it. Free plans show £0 until you pass a threshold, such as an invoice limit, VAT filing or your first employee, at which point the provider moves you to a paid plan.
How we calculate this
  • Estimated cost: each provider’s published prices and rates applied to the inputs you set above (such as volume, team size, or invoices), plus any fixed monthly fees.
  • Providers with an incomplete cost and quote-only providers are never ranked as the cheapest while a complete-cost option exists.
  • These are estimates. Published rates can change and your final pricing depends on your business, so confirm current pricing with the provider before switching.

Key takeaways

  • Your bank can set the price. FreeAgent lists a free plan of Yes (with NatWest/RBS/Mettle), and its rate card for everyone else starts at £19/mo (Sole Trader).
  • Free plans are real and usually stop at the filing. Pandle lists Yes (core) with VAT returns at Yes (Pro), and Crunch files VAT at Yes (Plus).
  • Payroll is where two similar bills part company. FreeAgent lists payroll at Included, QuickBooks at £5/mo + £1.50/emp and Sage at Bundled + £1.85/emp/mo.

How we compare accounting software

We list 10 accounting tools sold to UK businesses. Every figure comes from the vendor's own pricing page, on the basis the vendor uses, which for UK software is normally before VAT. Some headline prices are a true monthly rate and some are the monthly equivalent of an annual commitment, so read the billing basis with the number.

The calculator asks for invoices a month, employees, users and whether you are VAT registered. For each vendor it picks the cheapest published plan that covers those inputs and costs it, then sorts the table by that figure. The VAT toggle matters: Xero sells its lowest plan only to businesses that do not file VAT, so ticking the box removes it. Commission does not change the order.

Making Tax Digital: what accounting software has to file

Making Tax Digital is the main reason a UK business shops in this category. For VAT the obligation is already live: a VAT registered business keeps digital records and submits its return through software HMRC recognises. For Income Tax, the same digital records and quarterly updates are being phased in for sole traders and landlords by income band.

Every row in the VAT returns column reads yes. Where a plan name sits beside it, filing needs that plan. Income Tax and Self Assessment are where the table splits:

ProviderMTD for Income TaxSelf Assessment
ANNA MoneyYesYes
CrunchYes (Plus)Add-on
FreeAgentYesYes
FreshBooksNoNo
PandleYes (Pro)Limited
QuickBooks OnlineYesYes
QuickFileYesLimited
SageYesNo
XeroYesNo
Zoho BooksYesYes

Filing the return is not the same as being ready to file it. If you are a sole trader who does the return yourself in January, these two columns decide the purchase. If you run a company with an accountant, they matter far less, because Corporation Tax and Companies House are the deadlines that bite.

Free accounting software, and where the free plan stops

The UK has a genuinely free end to this market. It is worth knowing where it stops rather than assuming it is a trial.

ProviderFree planCustomer support
ANNA MoneyYes (PAYG)24/7 chat
CrunchYes (with ads)In-app chat
FreeAgentYes (with NatWest/RBS/Mettle)UK phone + email
FreshBooksNoPhone + email
PandleYes (core)Live chat (Pro)
QuickBooks OnlineNoPhone + chat
QuickFileYesCommunity forum
SageNoUK phone
XeroNo24/7 online
Zoho BooksYes (under revenue cap)Email / voice / chat

Read the brackets, because each free plan is limited in a different way: some are capped on how much business you do, FreeAgent's is tied to a bank account, Crunch's carries ads. Some also stop short of the filing: Pandle files VAT at Yes (Pro) and Crunch at Yes (Plus). If you are VAT registered, the free plan is often not the plan you will end up on. Support is the other trade: a forum or in-app chat is a fair swap at nothing a month, and a poor one on the day a VAT return will not submit.

Your bank can set what accounting software costs

This is an unusual mechanism, and it can take a paid licence all the way to nothing.

FreeAgent lists its free plan as Yes (with NatWest/RBS/Mettle). That is a full licence, not a trial, for qualifying business banking customers of the banks named in that row. Everyone else pays the rate card, which starts at £19/mo (Sole Trader). Same software. The difference is which bank you opened an account with.

ANNA Money comes at the same idea from the other direction. The business account is the product and the bookkeeping sits inside it: its entry plan is Free (Pay As You Go) and its bank feeds row reads Native account.

Two things to weigh. A bundled licence is tied to the account, so if the banking relationship ends you are on the rate card with years of records inside. And free is not the same as suitable: the bundled option still has to handle your VAT scheme, your legal structure and your payroll. Bank feeds are a smaller version of the same trap. Most rows include them, but QuickFile lists Add-on (£15/yr) and Crunch lists Yes (Plus).

Payroll inside accounting software

Payroll is a common reason a UK accounting bill turns out larger than the price column suggested.

ProviderPayroll includedPayroll cost
ANNA MoneyLimitedBasic (1 emp)
CrunchNoNot stated
FreeAgentYes (included)Included
FreshBooksNoN/A
PandleNoN/A
QuickBooks OnlineYes (add-on)£5/mo + £1.50/emp
QuickFileNoN/A
SageYes (bundled)Bundled + £1.85/emp/mo
XeroYes£1.50/emp/mo (£1 Ultimate)
Zoho BooksNoN/A

Read the costs as shapes. An included module does not move with headcount. A per-employee charge grows with every hire. A flat fee plus a per-employee charge starts higher and then climbs with every hire. Enter your real headcount in the calculator rather than reading the entry price, because headcount is where the difference lives.

Where the row reads no, the product does bookkeeping and VAT and leaves PAYE to separate software. That is a normal way to run a UK business. It just means the comparison has to be like for like: if payroll is not in this bill it is in a second one, and our payroll comparison covers that.

CIS, multi-currency and stock in accounting software

Three jobs cut this table down faster than price does.

ProviderCIS supportInventory tracking
ANNA MoneyNoNo
CrunchNoNo
FreeAgentYesNo
FreshBooksNoNo
PandleNoYes (Pro)
QuickBooks OnlineYesYes (Plus)
QuickFileNoNo
SageYes (Standard)Yes (Plus)
XeroYes (filing add-on)Limited
Zoho BooksYes (returns: Professional)Yes (Professional)

If you are a contractor or subcontractor, the Construction Industry Scheme column decides most of this page for you: deductions are either built in or manual work every month. Item tracking in a ledger is not stock control, so if you count things across locations you are shopping in a different category.

No row excludes multi-currency outright, but several gate it to a named plan and others list it as limited. Read the Multi-currency row in the table above before you assume the entry plan can raise an invoice in euros. Your accountant is the seat people forget to count too: FreeAgent lists accountant access as Yes (free) and Crunch lists Add-on (£25+VAT). If you already have an accountant, ask which of these they work in daily. The tool they know can save more in their time than the difference in subscription.

Frequently asked questions

How much does accounting software cost in the UK?

UK accounting software typically costs from £16/mo (Lite) to £70/mo (Ultimate) per month, excluding VAT, depending on the provider and plan. Entry plans are around £16/mo (Lite) (FreshBooks Lite), £10/mo (Standard, annual) (Zoho Books), £20/mo (Accounting Start) (Sage Accounting Start), and £18/mo (Ignite) (Xero Ignite) or £16/mo (Simple Start) (QuickBooks Simple Start). FreeAgent is £19/mo (Sole Trader) for sole traders. FreeAgent's free-tier eligibility: Yes (with NatWest/RBS/Mettle). Several tools have genuine free tiers, including Pandle, QuickFile and Zoho Books. Add payroll and extra users on top where they apply. Use the calculator above to compare your exact scenario.

What is the best accounting software for a UK small business?

There is no single best option, it depends on your needs. Xero suits businesses wanting unlimited users and a deep app ecosystem. QuickBooks is strong for sole traders thanks to its Self Assessment and Making Tax Digital for Income Tax support. Sage is a UK-headquartered choice with unlimited invoicing from its entry plan. FreeAgent is ideal for contractors and sole traders, especially NatWest and RBS customers who get it free. For a free option, Pandle and QuickFile are well rated. Compare the table above on price, compliance, payroll, and the features you need.

Which accounting software is Making Tax Digital (MTD) compatible?

Xero, QuickBooks, Sage, FreeAgent, FreshBooks, Zoho Books, Crunch, Pandle, and QuickFile are all HMRC-recognised for Making Tax Digital for VAT, so they can file VAT returns directly to HMRC. Check which tier you need: Crunch includes MTD VAT filing on its Plus plan and sells it as an add-on below that. Several also support MTD for Income Tax (ITSA), including QuickBooks, FreeAgent, Zoho Books, Pandle, QuickFile and Crunch on its Plus plan. Use the Making Tax Digital filter above to narrow the list.

Is there free accounting software in the UK?

Yes. Pandle offers a genuinely free forever core plan with bank feeds and unlimited users, with a £5/mo (Pro) tier for MTD VAT submissions. QuickFile is free for businesses staying under 1,000 nominal ledger entries over a rolling 12 months. Zoho Books has a free plan for businesses under a revenue threshold, including MTD VAT filing. FreeAgent's free-tier eligibility: Yes (with NatWest/RBS/Mettle).

Can accounting software file my VAT return to HMRC?

Yes, all the paid and most of the free options here file VAT returns directly to HMRC under Making Tax Digital. Xero, QuickBooks, Sage, FreeAgent, FreshBooks, Zoho Books, Crunch, Pandle, and QuickFile all support direct VAT submission (Pandle and QuickFile require their MTD-ready tier or settings, and Crunch includes it on Plus or sells it as a monthly add-on below that). You connect the software to HMRC once, then submit each quarter from within the app. Use the VAT returns filter above to compare.

Which accounting software supports CIS for the construction industry?

FreeAgent has strong Construction Industry Scheme support for both contractors and subcontractors, including CIS deductions and statements (though it does not file the monthly CIS300 contractor return directly). QuickBooks supports CIS calculations and returns from its Simple Start plan upward. Xero's CIS support: Yes (filing add-on), and Sage's CIS support: Yes (Standard). If you work in construction, use the CIS support filter above and confirm whether the provider files the CIS300 return for you.

Does accounting software handle Self Assessment for sole traders?

Some do. QuickBooks lists Self Assessment preparation on every plan, FreeAgent files the Self Assessment return directly to HMRC, and Zoho Books prepares and files the SA100 from its free plan, which makes all three strong picks for sole traders. Crunch offers Self Assessment filing as a paid one-off add-on alongside its software plans. Pandle and QuickFile offer MTD for Income Tax readiness rather than a full Self Assessment service, and ANNA Money includes MTD for Income Tax filing. Xero, Sage and FreshBooks do not market a dedicated sole-trader Self Assessment tool. Use the Self Assessment filter above to compare.

Does accounting software include payroll?

It varies. FreeAgent includes PAYE and RTI payroll at no extra cost. Xero and Sage both now bundle payroll into every accounting plan, though how many employees are included free differs: Sage includes five on each of its payroll plans, while on Xero the number rises with the plan and its cheapest payroll-capable plan includes none, charging per person from the first. QuickBooks offers a payroll add-on from around £5/mo (Core) plus £1.50/emp/mo. FreshBooks, Pandle, and QuickFile do not offer payroll. If you want payroll as a dedicated product rather than bundled with accounting, Sage also sells Sage Payroll separately. Enter your employee count in the calculator above to see the payroll-inclusive cost for each provider.

What is Making Tax Digital for Income Tax, and which software is ready for it?

Making Tax Digital for Income Tax Self Assessment (MTD ITSA) requires sole traders and landlords with qualifying income to keep digital records and send quarterly updates to HMRC, phasing in from April 2026 for those over £50,000. QuickBooks, FreeAgent, Zoho Books, Crunch (Plus tier), Pandle (Pro tier), QuickFile, and ANNA Money are geared up for ITSA, as are Xero and Sage. FreshBooks is not. If you have both self-employment and rental income, check how each tool handles multiple income streams, since some need a separate setup per trade. Use the MTD for Income Tax filter above.

Will my accounting software price go up over time?

Often, yes. Both QuickBooks and Xero raised UK prices in the last year (QuickBooks by roughly 15 to 25% in early 2026, Xero by around 10 to 17% in September 2025), and promotional rates expire after a few months. The prices in this table are the current standard post-promo rates, excluding VAT. If long-term cost matters, the UK-built tools (FreeAgent, Pandle, QuickFile) and the genuine free tiers tend to be more stable. Always check the renewal price, not just the intro offer.

How hard is it to switch accounting software?

Most platforms let you export your data, and migration tools such as Movemybooks or Dataswitcher can move history between Xero, QuickBooks, and Sage, usually covering the last 24 months. The main friction is switching part-way through a VAT period and re-checking opening balances, so many businesses move at the start of a new financial year, and your accountant can often handle it. Before committing, confirm the provider offers a clean data export so you are not locked in.

Can I get accounting software free with my bank?

In some cases, yes. FreeAgent is free for life for NatWest, Royal Bank of Scotland, and Ulster Bank business banking customers, and for qualifying Mettle account holders, because NatWest Group owns FreeAgent. ANNA Money bundles bookkeeping and HMRC filing into its business account and has a free pay-as-you-go tier. Otherwise, Pandle, QuickFile, and Zoho Books offer genuinely free plans for smaller businesses. Use the Free plan filter above to see them.

Can I just use spreadsheets for Making Tax Digital?

You can, but only with bridging software that connects your spreadsheet to HMRC and preserves the digital links MTD requires. Bridging tools are cheap, often around £30 a year, but they do not give you bank feeds, invoicing, or reporting, and many accountants prefer full software because they can see the underlying records. For most growing businesses a low-cost or free package like QuickFile, Pandle, or Zoho Books is simpler than a spreadsheet plus bridging setup.

Browse all Accounting Software in our directory

Popular Accounting Software comparisons

Independent, side by side breakdowns of the matchups merchants ask about most.

Not sure which accounting software is right for your business?

Our team can help you evaluate your options based on your business size, payroll needs, and compliance requirements.