16 providersAll prices in GBPPrices checked

Compare HR Software in the United Kingdom

Compare HR software (HRIS) for UK businesses. See per-employee pricing, UK employment-law and right-to-work support, GDPR, native PAYE/RTI payroll, onboarding, and employee self-service side by side.

Updated
Staff overseas?
Filters
Connecteam logoConnecteamAccess PeopleHR logoAccess PeopleHRDeel logoDeelBreathe logoBreatheEmployment Hero logoEmployment HeroCharlieHR logoCharlieHRSage HR logoSage HRFactorial logoFactorialBambooHR logoBambooHRPayoneer Workforce Management logoPayoneer Workforce ManagementMultiplier logoMultiplierPapaya Global logoPapaya GlobalOyster HR logoOyster HRHiBob logoHiBobPersonio logoPersonioRippling logoRippling
Est. Cost /mo (GBP)£22/moHR & Skills Hub (Basic)Cheapest£75/moStarter£94/moCore HR£99/moRegular£100/moHR Essentials£108/mo15-29£125/moCore HR£135/moFactorial£200/moCore (25 or fewer)
Visit Deel
Visit Breathe
Visit Sage HR
Visit HiBob
Ratings
4.6GetApp (5,298)4.4Capterra (300+)4.9Capterra (4,278)4.3Capterra (45)4.4Capterra (239)4.7Capterra (37)4.5Capterra (368)4.5Capterra (280+)4.6Capterra (3,428)4.6G2 (130+)4.4GetApp (44)4.5Capterra (43)4.6GetApp (91)4.6Capterra (175)4.3Capterra (312)4.8G2 (5,000+)
Costs & Pricing
£0.37/user/mo above 30£3/emp/mo£4/emp/mo£0 (flat tiers)£4/emp/mo£0 (flat tiers)£5/emp/moFrom £5.40/emp/moFrom £8.10/emp/moQuoteQuoteQuoteQuoteQuoteQuoteQuote
£22/mo (Basic)£0£0£24/mo (up to 10)£0£21/mo (1-4)£0£0£0QuoteQuoteQuoteQuoteQuoteQuoteQuote
£22/mo (Basic hub fee)—None£24/mo£40/mo£21/mo+——£200/moQuoteQuoteQuoteQuoteQuoteQuoteQuote
Per hub: flat for the first 30 users, then per userPer-employee tieredPer-employee (no minimum) + modular payrollFlat tiers per businessPer-employee (published rate card)Flat tiers per businessPer-employee modularPer-employee modularPer-employee published (£200/mo min under 25 emp)EOR (quote for HR)EOR (quote for HR)QuoteEOR (quote for HR)Quote-only PEPMQuote-only PEPM (tiered)Modular (quote)
✓up to 10 employees✕✕✕✕✕✕✕✕✕✕✕✕✕✕✕
✕Varies✕✕✕✕✕✕AnnualNot stated✕✓✕minimumAnnualAnnualNot stated
UK Compliance & Payroll
Not statedStrong✓globalStrong✓StrongStrong✓LimitedVia EORVia EOR✓globalVia EOR✓Strong✓
Not stated✓✓✓documents✓✓documents✓documentsLimitedLimitedNot statedNot stated✓Not stated✓✓share-code✓
✓✓✓✓UK servers✓✓UK servers✓✓ISO 27001✓Not statedNot stated✓Not stated✓✓✓
✕integrationNative (add-on)Native (global)IntegrationNative (UK PAYE)IntegrationVia Sage PayrollIntegrationNone (UK)Via EORQuoteNative (global)Via EORNative (UK PAYE)IntegrationNative (UK PAYE)
✕Via payroll module✓Via integration✓Via integrationVia Sage PayrollVia integrationN/A (UK)Via EORNot statedNot statedNot stated✓Via integration✓
✓✓✓✓✓✓✓✓✓✓✓✓✓✓✓✓
✓✓✓✓✓✓✓✓✓✓✓✓✓✓✓✓
✓Operations Hub✓✓Add-on✓LimitedModule✓✓add-on✓Not stated✓✓✓✓✓
Limited✓✓Advanced+✓✓✓Module✓✓Not statedNot stated✕Not stated✓✓✓
✓✓✓✓✓✓✓✓✓✓✓✓Not stated✓✓✓
✕✕✓150+ countries✕✕✕✕✕✕✓EOR, AOR and contractors in 160+ countries; payroll in 70+ currencies✓EOR in 160+ countries✓160+ countries✓EOR in 120+ countries, contractors in 180+Limited✕Add-on (own entities or EOR)
——£448/emp/mo——————£149/emp/mo (from)£373/emp/mo (from)£373/emp/mo (from)£522/emp/mo——Quote
AI
Native (AI course creator)Native (Access Evo Copilot)Native + add-ons (Deel AI, Akai agents)LimitedNative (Hero AI: SmartMatch)Announced (Grow)LimitedNative (Factorial One)Native (Ask BambooHR)Limited (compliance automation)Not statedNative (payroll validation)Native (Oyster AI)Native (Bob AI, 12 agents, Bob Studio)Native (Personio Assistant)Native (Rippling AI)
API only (Expert and above)Via 3rd-party (Zapier)Native MCP (official)Via 3rd-party (community)Via 3rd-party (Zapier)API onlyVia 3rd-party (Zapier)Via 3rd-party (Zapier)Via 3rd-party (community)API onlyNot statedAPI onlyAPI onlyNative MCP (official, beta)Via 3rd-party (Zapier)Via 3rd-party (StackOne)
Features & Integrations
✓✓✓✓✓✓✓✓✓✓Not stated✓✓✓✓✓
✕✓Add-onAdd-on✓Add-onAdd-on✓✓✕✕✕Via integrationVia integration✓strong✓
✓Via Access✓Advanced+Add-on✓✕✕✓Via integration✕✕✕✕✓✓✓
✓✓✓✓✓✓✓✓✓Not statedNot stated✓Not stated✓analytics✓✓
Xero, QBO, ZapierAccess, Xero, SageXero, QBO, NetSuite, SageXero, Sage, QBO, SlackXero, QBO, SageSlack, Xero, GoogleSage Payroll, SlackSlack, Xero, 100+Slack, Xero, 125+Not itemisedBambooHR, HiBobNetSuite, SAP, WorkdayXero, QBO, BambooHRSlack, Xero, 100+Slack, Xero, 200+Xero, QBO, Slack, 650+
24h chat, emailUK-based24/7UK-basedOnlineUK-basedUK-basedOnlineUS hours24x524/5 (EOR)24/7 supportNot statedOnlineOnlineOnline
Estimates based on 25 employees. Rates can change without notice, confirm current pricing with the provider before signing on. Estimates use each provider's published plan at your team size: a per-employee rate, a flat fee for a headcount band, or a monthly minimum, which holds until your team is large enough to pass it. Answering Yes to Staff overseas shows only providers that employ people abroad themselves, each costed on its published Employer of Record price per person. Providers that do not publish a price show Get quote. Enter your current monthly cost to see your savings against each provider.
How we calculate this
  • Estimated cost: each provider’s published prices and rates applied to the inputs you set above (such as volume, team size, or invoices), plus any fixed monthly fees.
  • Providers with an incomplete cost and quote-only providers are never ranked as the cheapest while a complete-cost option exists.
  • These are estimates. Published rates can change and your final pricing depends on your business, so confirm current pricing with the provider before switching.

Key takeaways

  • Most HR software here is priced per employee per month with no base fee. Sage HR lists £5/emp/mo and Access PeopleHR £3/emp/mo, so the bill is your headcount times the rate.
  • Breathe and CharlieHR charge a flat band instead, starting at £24/mo (up to 10) and £21/mo (1-4). BambooHR applies a floor of £200/mo. Either shape means the next hire costs something other than one rate.
  • Employment Hero, HiBob and Rippling run UK PAYE payroll natively. Several rows hand payroll and pension auto-enrolment to an integration instead. Read the Native payroll row before the price.

How we compare HR software

We list 16 HR platforms sold to UK businesses, and 9 providers publish a rate card we can cost from. Every figure comes from the vendor's own pricing page, in pounds. Where a vendor quotes instead, the table says so.

The calculator takes your headcount and, separately, how many of your staff are employed overseas. Each published rate card is costed at those numbers, with any flat band, floor or included allowance applied, and the table sorts by the result. Commission does not change the order.

What HR software costs at your headcount

The pricing page publishes a rate. You are asking for a bill. The bill is the rate, your headcount, and whatever the vendor does at each end of the range.

ProviderPer-employee fee /moMonthly base fee
Access PeopleHR£3/emp/mo£0
BambooHRFrom £8.10/emp/mo£0
Breathe£0 (flat tiers)£24/mo (up to 10)
CharlieHR£0 (flat tiers)£21/mo (1-4)
Connecteam£0.37/user/mo above 30£22/mo (Basic)
Deel£4/emp/mo£0
Employment Hero£4/emp/mo£0
FactorialFrom £5.40/emp/mo£0
HiBobQuoteQuote
MultiplierQuoteQuote
Oyster HRQuoteQuote
Papaya GlobalQuoteQuote
Payoneer Workforce ManagementQuoteQuote
PersonioQuoteQuote
RipplingQuoteQuote
Sage HR£5/emp/mo£0

Three shapes cover most of the priced rows. A straight per-employee rate with no base fee moves by one rate per hire. A flat band, which Breathe and CharlieHR use, costs nothing inside the band and steps up a whole subscription at the boundary, so a business just under a boundary should price the band above. A monthly floor, which several vendors publish, is the entire bill below the crossover headcount and irrelevant above it. A floor and a rate do not add together.

ProviderMinimum cost /moContract
BambooHR£200/moAnnual
Breathe£24/moNo
CharlieHR£21/mo+No
Connecteam£22/mo (Basic hub fee)No
Employment Hero£40/moNo
RipplingQuoteNot stated

Connecteam is a variant: its hub fee covers the first 30 users and each one after that costs £0.37/user/mo above 30.

Count the people who need a record, not full-time equivalents. Part-timers, seasonal staff and leavers you have not archived are all billable on most of the table. Recruitment, time tracking and learning are sold as add-ons or modules on some rows, so if one of them is the reason you are shopping, read its row before trusting the entry rate. And enter your real headcount into the calculator rather than reading the entry figure off the table: on most rows the bill moves with headcount.

Where HR software stops and payroll begins

HR software owns the employee record: contracts, personal data, holiday balances, absence, documents and reviews. Payroll turns that record into gross-to-net pay and the filings that go with it. Pension duties live where payroll lives.

ProviderNative payrollPension auto-enrolment
Access PeopleHRNative (add-on)Via payroll module
BambooHRNone (UK)N/A (UK)
BreatheIntegrationVia integration
CharlieHRIntegrationVia integration
ConnecteamNo (integration)No
DeelNative (global)Yes
Employment HeroNative (UK PAYE)Yes
FactorialIntegrationVia integration
HiBobNative (UK PAYE)Yes
MultiplierQuoteNot stated
Oyster HRVia EORNot stated
Papaya GlobalNative (global)Not stated
Payoneer Workforce ManagementVia EORVia EOR
PersonioIntegrationVia integration
RipplingNative (UK PAYE)Yes
Sage HRVia Sage PayrollVia Sage Payroll

If your row says integration, the question for the salesperson is not whether it integrates with payroll. It is which fields cross, in which direction, and what still has to be typed twice. Ask about new starter details and bank details by name. Our payroll comparison covers the filing side of the same purchase.

Right to work, employment law and employee data in UK HR software

A system designed for another country can be excellent software and still leave you doing the UK-specific parts by hand.

Statutory holiday entitlement in the UK is 5.6 weeks, and it has to be modelled rather than tracked: test in a trial whether accrual, pro-rating for part-timers and carry-over follow UK statute rather than an American paid-time-off pool.

Right to work is a process, not a document store. Filing a passport scan is not the same as running a share-code check and holding the evidence with a follow-up date on a time-limited permission. Employment law depth means contract templates, probation and notice handling, and structured disciplinary and grievance processes, not a legal opinion.

ProviderRight-to-work checksUK employment law
Access PeopleHRYesStrong
BambooHRLimitedLimited
BreatheYes (documents)Strong
CharlieHRYes (documents)Strong
ConnecteamNot statedNot stated
DeelYesYes (global)
Employment HeroYesYes
FactorialLimitedYes
HiBobYesYes
MultiplierNot statedVia EOR
Oyster HRNot statedVia EOR
Papaya GlobalYesYes (global)
Payoneer Workforce ManagementNot statedVia EOR
PersonioYes (share-code)Strong
RipplingYesYes
Sage HRYes (documents)Strong

Employee data is among the most sensitive data a small business holds. Under UK GDPR you are the controller, and a subject access request from a departing employee is when you find out how the system stores things. The GDPR compliance row says where servers sit for some vendors; ask before you migrate. Support hours are a compliance feature in disguise: a question about a dismissal on a Friday afternoon is not one to hold overnight, and the Support row says where each vendor answers.

HR software for staff employed overseas

Several rows are not competing on HR pricing at all. They sell Employer of Record cover, where a provider that already holds an entity in another country employs the person on your behalf for a fee per person per month.

ProviderGlobal/remote hiringEmployer of Record /mo
DeelYes (150+ countries)£448/emp/mo
MultiplierYes (EOR in 160+ countries)from £373/emp/mo
Oyster HRYes (EOR in 120+ countries, contractors in 180+)£522/emp/mo
Papaya GlobalYes (160+ countries)from £373/emp/mo
Payoneer Workforce ManagementYes (EOR, AOR and contractors in 160+ countries; payroll in 70+ currencies)from £149/emp/mo
RipplingAdd-on (own entities or EOR)Quote

That is a different order of spend for a different problem. If everybody you employ is in the UK, leave the overseas input at zero and this group is not your shortlist.

Outgrowing small-business HR software without overbuying

Outgrowing shows up in three places. Flat-band products publish a top band, and above it you are in a quote conversation. The modules you skipped become the reason you shop again. And a business crossing into a second country needs capability its HR system was never built for.

Overbuying is quieter. A quote-only mid-market platform is a good product that a fifteen-person business uses a fraction of, and a floor means a small team pays the minimum however few records it holds.

Under about ten employees, a shared drive and a spreadsheet honestly cover holiday and documents. What forces the purchase is usually an event: an absence dispute nobody can evidence, a subject access request, or the first hire whose right-to-work permission has an expiry date. When it comes, ask what the data export looks like on the way out, because an HR system holds records you must keep long after you stop paying for it.

Frequently asked questions

How much does HR software cost in the UK?

UK HR software is priced in two shapes. Per-employee plans charge a monthly rate for each person: Access PeopleHR £3/emp/mo, Deel HR £4/emp/mo, Sage HR £5/emp/mo, Factorial From £5.40/emp/mo, and BambooHR From £8.10/emp/mo above a monthly floor of £200/mo. Breathe at £24/mo (up to 10) and CharlieHR at £21/mo (1-4) charge a flat fee for a band of employees instead, so the cost steps up as you grow into the next band. HiBob and Personio price by quote. Enter your headcount in the calculator above to see what each would cost your team.

What is the best HR software for a small business in the UK?

For a small UK team the strongest options are the UK-native tools: Breathe (flat pricing by headcount band, built for under-50 teams), CharlieHR (flat-fee entry from £21/mo (1-4), great for startups) and Sage HR (modular, integrates with Sage Payroll). BambooHR and HiBob are excellent but pricier and aimed higher up; Personio and Factorial suit growing UK and EU teams; Deel is best if you hire internationally, and its HR tier is £4/emp/mo. The best choice depends on size, budget, and whether you need native UK payroll.

Is there free HR software for UK small businesses?

Yes, for a small team. Connecteam's Small Business Plan is free for life and includes its HR hub. The table lists it as Yes (up to 10 employees), and above that size it moves to a paid plan. Otherwise a permanent free plan is rare: Deel HR (Core HR) is not free, but at £4/emp/mo with no minimum headcount and no base fee it is inexpensive for a small team. CharlieHR does not have a permanent free plan (it offers a 7-day trial before its flat per-band fee starts at £21/mo (1-4)), and Breathe and most others offer a 14-day free trial rather than a permanent free plan. Spreadsheets are free but break down fast on leave tracking, compliance and data protection.

Do I really need HR software for a small team?

If you have more than a handful of employees, it usually pays for itself. HR software centralises employee records (keeping that data secure is a UK-GDPR requirement), automates holiday and absence tracking, stores right-to-work documents with expiry reminders, runs onboarding, and gives staff self-service. Most UK small businesses move off spreadsheets once leave, documents and compliance become a manual burden, usually around 5 to 10 employees. At that size the entry plans cost less each month than the admin time they save, and the calculator above shows each one at your own headcount.

What is an HRIS, and how is it different from payroll?

An HRIS (Human Resources Information System) is the central system of record for your people data: employee records, leave and absence, documents, onboarding, performance and self-service. The terms HRIS and HR software are used interchangeably. Payroll is a separate function (calculating pay, tax and National Insurance, and filing RTI with HMRC). Some HRIS platforms include native UK payroll (Employment Hero, HiBob, Rippling, Deel); most UK HR tools (Breathe, CharlieHR, Sage HR, Factorial, Personio, BambooHR) instead integrate with a separate payroll product.

Which HR software includes UK payroll (PAYE/RTI)?

The HR platforms with native UK payroll (PAYE, RTI to HMRC, pension auto-enrolment) are Employment Hero (the ex-KeyPay engine), HiBob (HiBob Payroll UK, built on Pento), Rippling, and Deel (global payroll and EOR). Sage HR pairs with the separate HMRC-recognised Sage Payroll, and Access PeopleHR offers a native payroll add-on. Breathe, CharlieHR, Factorial, Personio and BambooHR do not run UK payroll themselves; they integrate with a payroll provider (BambooHR's own payroll is US-only).

How do UK HR platforms help with right-to-work and GDPR compliance?

Good UK HR software stores right-to-work documents with expiry reminders, which most platforms here do. Running a share-code check is a separate capability from storing the document, so check the right-to-work row: Personio lists native share-code workflows, while most others list document storage or onboarding checks. For UK-GDPR, reputable platforms use encryption, role-based access and audit logs; UK-native tools (Breathe, CharlieHR) host data on UK servers, and EU tools (Factorial, Personio) are explicitly UK-GDPR compliant. Always confirm where your employee data is hosted and that a Data Processing Agreement is in place.

BambooHR vs Breathe: which is better for a UK business?

Breathe is UK-native and built around UK employment practices, and it prices differently from BambooHR: Breathe charges a flat fee for a band of employees, from £24/mo (up to 10), while BambooHR is priced per employee (From £8.10/emp/mo) above a monthly floor of £200/mo. Compare them at your own headcount in the calculator above. BambooHR has a slicker interface, a built-in ATS and stronger reporting, but it is US-first, its native payroll is US-only (UK users need a separate integration), and support runs on US hours. For a small UK team on a budget, Breathe usually wins; BambooHR suits larger or design-led teams that do not need UK payroll built in.

BambooHR vs HiBob: what is the difference?

Both are polished mid-market HR platforms rated around 4.6 out of 5 on Capterra. HiBob ("Bob") has standout culture, engagement and people-analytics tools, and crucially offers native UK payroll (via its 2024 Pento acquisition), making it a true HR plus payroll platform for UK teams. BambooHR is strong on core HR, onboarding and its built-in ATS, but its payroll is US-only and it is more US-oriented for European employment law. HiBob is quote-only; BambooHR publishes a UK per-employee rate card (Core from £8.10). HiBob fits UK scale-ups wanting payroll in one place; BambooHR fits teams prioritising ease of use and ATS.

Personio vs HiBob: which suits a growing UK company?

Both target UK and Ireland mid-market teams. Personio is GDPR-first with a strong built-in ATS and explicit UK right-to-work and share-code tooling, but uses payroll integration rather than native UK payroll. HiBob leads on engagement, analytics and native UK payroll. Pick Personio if recruiting and EU-wide compliance matter most; pick HiBob if you want HR and UK payroll in one platform with best-in-class analytics. Both are quote-only at roughly £6 to £12 per employee per month.

When should I move from spreadsheets to HR software?

Move when manual admin starts costing real time or creating risk, usually around 5 to 10 employees, or sooner if you struggle to track holiday accurately, store right-to-work and contract documents securely (a UK-GDPR obligation), run consistent onboarding, or produce HR reports. Spreadsheets have no audit trail, no self-service and no compliance reminders. Enter your headcount in the calculator above to see what each platform would cost your team.

Is BambooHR good for the UK?

BambooHR is popular and GDPR-compliant, but it is built for the US market. The main UK drawbacks are no native UK payroll (its payroll is US-only, so you need a separate integration), support on US hours, and a relatively rigid fit for UK employment law. It remains a strong choice for core HR, onboarding and its built-in ATS, especially for design-conscious or international teams. UK-first buyers who want payroll built in should also shortlist HiBob, Employment Hero, or a UK-native tool like Breathe or Sage HR.

What is the cheapest HR software in the UK?

It depends on your headcount, because UK HR software is priced in two different shapes. Per-employee plans charge a monthly rate for each person: Access PeopleHR £3/emp/mo, Deel HR (Core HR) £4/emp/mo with no minimum headcount, Sage HR £5/emp/mo and Factorial From £5.40/emp/mo. Breathe (£24/mo (up to 10)) and CharlieHR (£21/mo (1-4)) instead charge a flat fee for a band of employees, which stays level within the band and steps up at the next one. A per-employee plan grows with every hire and a band plan jumps at each boundary, so the cheaper of the two changes as you grow. Enter your team size in the calculator to see them ranked.

Browse all HR Software in our directory

Popular HR Software comparisons

Independent, side by side breakdowns of the matchups merchants ask about most.

Best HR Software for your business

Ranked picks for specific business types, with our live cost calculator.

HR Software pricing guides

What each provider actually charges, plan by plan, with cheaper alternatives.

HR Software alternatives

Ranked alternatives to the providers merchants are weighing up, with our live cost calculator.

Not sure which HR platform is right for your business?

Our team can help you evaluate your options based on your team size, UK employment-law and right-to-work needs, whether you need native payroll, and your budget.