13 providersAll prices in GBPPrices checked

Compare Payroll Software in the United Kingdom

Compare payroll software for UK businesses. See per-employee costs, PAYE and RTI filing to HMRC, pension auto-enrolment, statutory pay, CIS, and accounting integrations side by side.

Updated
Filters
Sage logoSageEmployment Hero logoEmployment HeroFreeAgent logoFreeAgentXero logoXeroQuickBooks Online logoQuickBooks OnlineStaffology logoStaffologyRippling logoRipplingDeel logoDeelPapaya Global logoPapaya GlobalRemote logoRemotePayoneer Workforce Management logoPayoneer Workforce ManagementBrightPay logoBrightPayMoorepay logoMoorepay
Est. Cost /mo (GBP)£24/moPayroll Essentials (6-10)Cheapest£30/moCore Payroll£33/moLimited Company£33/moIgnite£36/moSimple Start + Payroll Core£43/moStaffology£100/moPayroll£217/moGlobal Payroll£217/moPayroll Plus£217/moPayroll
Ratings
4.1Capterra (614)4.4Capterra (239)4.5Capterra (175)4.4Capterra (3,299)4.4Capterra (917)4.3Capterra (~4 (very thin sample))4.8G2 (5,000+)4.9Capterra (4,278)4.5Capterra (43)4.6Capterra (1,000+)4.6G2 (130+)4.9Capterra (345)4.4Trustpilot (1,859)
Costs & Pricing
£2.40/emp/mo (6-10)£3/emp/moBest£0 (included)£1.50/emp/mo£1.50/emp/mo£2.15/payslipFrom £7/user/mo£22/emp/mo (Global Payroll)£22/emp/mo (Payroll Plus)£22/emp/mo (Payroll)QuoteGet quoteQuote
£12/mo (Essentials, 5 emp)£0£33/mo (or free w/ NatWest)£18/mo (Ignite)£21/mo (sub + payroll)£43/mo (up to 20)£30/mo£0£0£0QuoteGet quoteQuote
✕✓✓with NatWest/RBS✕✕✕✕✕✕✕✕✕✕
✕✕✕✕✕✕Add-on (own entities or EOR)✓100+ countries✓160+ countries✓global✓160+ countries, EOR✕✕
——————Quote£448/emp/mo£373/emp/mo (from)£522/emp/mo£149/emp/mo (from)——
✓✓✓✓✓✓✓✓£37/contractor✓£4/contractor✓£22/contractor✓from £14/contractorCIS only✓
✕✕✕✕✕✕Not stated✕Annual✕Not stated✕Annual
Tax & Compliance
✓✓✓✓✓✓✓✓✕✓Via EOR✓✓
✓✓✓✓✓✓✓✓Not stated✓Via EOR✓✓managed
✓✓✓✓✓✓✓✓Not stated✓✓EOR✓✓
NEST + majorNEST + majorNOW:Pensions, PenfoldNEST + majorNEST + majorNEST + majorNEST + majorUK pensionNot statedUK pensionVia EORNEST, TPP, Smart, AvivaNEST + major
✓✓✓✓✓✓✓✓Not stated✓✓✓✓
✓Standard✓✓✓add-on✓✓LimitedLimited✕Limited✕✓free✓
✓✓✓✓✓✓✓✓Not stated✓✓✓✓
✕✕✕✕✕✕✓✓✓✓✓AOR✕✕
✕✕✕✕✕✕✓✓✓✓✓✕✕
✕✕✕✕✕✕✓✓✓✓Not stated✕✕
AI
Native (Sage Copilot)Native (Hero AI: SmartMatch)Native (Smart Capture, Radar)Native (JAX)Native (Intuit Assist)Native + add-ons (Autopilot)Native (Rippling AI)Native + add-ons (Deel AI, Akai agents)Native (payroll validation)Native (payroll/compliance AI access)Limited (compliance automation)Native (Oscar AI onboarding)Limited (anomaly detection, forecasting)
Via 3rd-party (community)Via 3rd-party (Zapier)Via 3rd-party (Zapier)Native MCP (official)Native MCP (Intuit, early preview)API onlyVia 3rd-party (StackOne)Native MCP (official)API onlyNative MCP (official)API onlyAPI onlyAPI only
Features & Integrations
✓✓Limited✓✓✓✓✓✓✓✓✓Connect✓
✓✓Limited✓✓✓✓✓✓✓✓✓Connect✓
✓✓✓✓✓✓✓✓✓Not stated✓Limited✓
Sage (native)Xero, QBO, SageFreeAgent (native)Xero (native)QuickBooks (native)Xero, Sage, QBO (API)Xero, QBO, NetSuite, SageXero, QBO, NetSuite, SageNetSuite, SAP, WorkdayXero, QBO, NetSuiteLimitedXero, Sage, QBOExports
UK phone + onlineOnlineUK support24/7 onlinePhone + chatUK (IRIS)Online24/724/7 supportDedicated specialistGlobalUK phoneDedicated service
Estimates based on 10 employees. Rates can change without notice, confirm current pricing with the provider before signing on. Estimates cover the base licence or subscription plus per-employee costs at your team size. Some providers include a band of employees in the base price, and where payroll needs a separate accounting subscription, that subscription is included. Providers that do not publish a price show Get quote.
How we calculate this
  • Estimated cost: each provider’s published prices and rates applied to the inputs you set above (such as volume, team size, or invoices), plus any fixed monthly fees.
  • Providers with an incomplete cost and quote-only providers are never ranked as the cheapest while a complete-cost option exists. A figure marked “from” is the vendor’s starting price, so it keeps its place in price order but is never badged as the cheapest.
  • These are estimates. Published rates can change and your final pricing depends on your business, so confirm current pricing with the provider before switching.

Key takeaways

  • Payroll software is priced as a monthly base fee plus a charge per employee. Sage lists £2.40/emp/mo (6-10) on £12/mo (Essentials, 5 emp); Staffology lists £2.15/payslip on £43/mo (up to 20).
  • If your accounting subscription already runs payroll, that plan may be your cheapest route. Xero lists £1.50/emp/mo on £18/mo (Ignite); FreeAgent lists £0 (included) on £33/mo (or free w/ NatWest).
  • Paying someone employed abroad is a separate purchase, priced per person per month. Employer of Record cover runs £448/emp/mo at Deel and £522/emp/mo at Remote.

How we compare payroll software

We list 13 ways to run UK payroll, spanning software you operate yourself and bureaus that run it for you. A published rate card exists for 10 providers, and every figure comes from the vendor's own pricing page. Where a vendor quotes instead, the table says so.

The calculator takes your headcount. Each rate card is costed at that number, with any included allowance or monthly minimum applied, and the table sorts by the result. Commission does not change the order.

RTI, auto-enrolment and CIS: what payroll software has to file

Two statutory jobs sit underneath every product here. Every pay run has to reach HMRC as a Full Payment Submission on or before the day you pay people, and late submissions attract penalties. Separately, you must assess every worker in every pay period, enrol those who qualify into a workplace pension, and re-declare compliance to The Pensions Regulator. The software side of that is assessment plus a contribution file your scheme will accept, so read which schemes a product talks to directly. If yours is not listed, you are uploading a file by hand each period.

If you pay subcontractors under the Construction Industry Scheme, a plan gate or add-on charge on CIS changes the real price for a construction business.

ProviderPension providersCIS support
BrightPayNEST, TPP, Smart, AvivaYes (free)
DeelUK pensionLimited
Employment HeroNEST + majorYes
FreeAgentNOW:Pensions, PenfoldYes
MoorepayNEST + majorYes
Papaya GlobalNot statedNo
Payoneer Workforce ManagementVia EORNo
QuickBooks OnlineNEST + majorYes
RemoteUK pensionLimited
RipplingNEST + majorLimited
SageNEST + majorYes (Standard)
StaffologyNEST + majorYes
XeroNEST + majorYes (add-on)

HMRC publishes a register of recognised payroll software, and the HMRC-recognised row records it. Papaya Global's reads No, which says what it is built for, and Payoneer Workforce Management's reads Via EOR, meaning the filing is done by the entity that legally employs the person.

Base fee plus per-employee: how payroll software rate cards work

Most priced rows are built from the same two parts: a monthly base fee, which is zero on some, plus a fee for each employee on a payslip that month. Where there is a base fee, at a handful of people it is most of the bill. At a couple of hundred it is a rounding error and the per-head figure is effectively the whole price.

ProviderMonthly base feePer-employee fee /mo
BrightPayGet quoteGet quote
Deel£0£22/emp/mo (Global Payroll)
Employment Hero£0£3/emp/mo
FreeAgent£33/mo (or free w/ NatWest)£0 (included)
MoorepayQuoteQuote
Papaya Global£0£22/emp/mo (Payroll Plus)
Payoneer Workforce ManagementQuoteQuote
QuickBooks Online£21/mo (sub + payroll)£1.50/emp/mo
Remote£0£22/emp/mo (Payroll)
Rippling£30/moFrom £7/user/mo
Sage£12/mo (Essentials, 5 emp)£2.40/emp/mo (6-10)
Staffology£43/mo (up to 20)£2.15/payslip
Xero£18/mo (Ignite)£1.50/emp/mo

Some vendors fold an allowance of employees into the base fee and charge per head beyond that. Where payroll is a module on an accounting subscription, the base fee is really the ledger, and the plan a ledger needs for payroll is not always its entry plan. FreeAgent's free tier reads Yes (with NatWest/RBS), which is a genuine consideration for a small limited company banking with those brands. Employment Hero applies a monthly minimum under its per-employee rate, and the calculator applies that floor rather than pretending the headline scales all the way down.

Quote-only pricing applies to 3 providers here. It is a different sales model rather than evasiveness: managed services and mid-market platforms are scoped before they are priced.

Managed payroll bureaus and payroll software you run yourself

A licence fee and a bureau quote are different purchases. With software, you enter starters and leavers, check the assessment, press submit, and you are the person HMRC corresponds with. With a bureau, a payroll professional runs the cycle from data you send. Moorepay's RTI row reads Yes (managed), which is the distinction in one cell.

ProviderContract requiredCustomer support
BrightPayNoUK phone
DeelNo24/7
Employment HeroNoOnline
FreeAgentNoUK support
MoorepayAnnualDedicated service
Papaya GlobalAnnual24/7 support
Payoneer Workforce ManagementNot statedGlobal
QuickBooks OnlineNoPhone + chat
RemoteNoDedicated specialist
RipplingNot statedOnline
SageNoUK phone + online
StaffologyNoUK (IRIS)
XeroNo24/7 online

A bad month on a monthly subscription costs you a month. A bad month on an annual managed contract costs you the year. When you collect bureau quotes, ask for the cost per payslip at your headcount and pay frequency, because a bureau bills the payslip. Ask what an off-cycle run costs, whether year-end work sits inside the fee, and what the notice period is, because leaving mid-tax-year means migrating year-to-date figures.

A business paying a handful of people on a stable monthly cycle rarely needs a bureau. The case for one is complexity you cannot staff for: high turnover, variable hours, or a finance function of one person.

Paying someone abroad is not a job for UK payroll software

UK payroll software operates a PAYE scheme for people employed in the UK. If someone lives and works in another country, they are subject to that country's employment law, payroll taxes and social security, and adding them to a UK payroll does not change that.

You have three routes. Set up a legal entity there and run local payroll. Use an Employer of Record, where a provider that holds an entity in that country employs the person on your behalf for a fee per person per month. Or engage them as a genuine contractor, which puts the classification risk on you.

ProviderEmployer of Record /moContractor payments
Deel£448/emp/moYes (£37/contractor)
Papaya Globalfrom £373/emp/moYes (£4/contractor)
Payoneer Workforce Managementfrom £149/emp/moYes (from £14/contractor)
Remote£522/emp/moYes (£22/contractor)
RipplingQuoteYes

The gap between those two columns is the price of somebody else carrying the employment risk, which is why the Misclassification protection row matters for this group. If everyone you pay sits on a UK PAYE scheme, ignore this half of the table. The global platforms are priced for a problem you do not have.

Payroll software at larger headcounts

As you grow, features you assumed were included can sit above the cheapest plan, so price the tier that carries what you need. Employee self-service stops being a nicety. And if a meaningful share of your people are hourly, someone is keying timesheets unless the system collects them.

ProviderTimesheet trackingAccounting integration
BrightPayLimitedXero, Sage, QBO
DeelYesXero, QBO, NetSuite, Sage
Employment HeroYesXero, QBO, Sage
FreeAgentYesFreeAgent (native)
MoorepayYesExports
Papaya GlobalYesNetSuite, SAP, Workday
Payoneer Workforce ManagementYesLimited
QuickBooks OnlineYesQuickBooks (native)
RemoteNot statedXero, QBO, NetSuite
RipplingYesXero, QBO, NetSuite, Sage
SageYesSage (native)
StaffologyYesXero, Sage, QBO (API)
XeroYesXero (native)

The journal has to land in the ledger without being retyped. An export is workable at fifteen people and a monthly chore at a few hundred. At this size a failed submission is a lot of people not being paid, and the Customer support column above says whether there is a UK phone line to ring.

Frequently asked questions

How much does payroll software cost in the UK?

It depends on whether you buy payroll on its own or as an add-on to accounting software. Dedicated payroll tools are usually the cheaper route: Sage Payroll starts at £12/mo (Essentials, 5 emp) plus £2.40/emp/mo (6-10), and Staffology lists £43/mo (up to 20) plus £2.15/payslip. BrightPay is cloud-only now and prices through a calculator on its own site rather than a published rate card, so we do not cost it. Add-ons to accounting software cost more because you also pay for the accounting plan: Xero Payroll needs the £18/mo (Ignite) plan plus £1.50/emp/mo, and QuickBooks Payroll costs £21/mo (sub + payroll) plus £1.50/emp/mo. Use the calculator above to compare your exact team size.

Is free payroll software any good, and what free options exist?

There are genuine free routes. HMRC Basic PAYE Tools is the government's free option, but it is bare-bones (no payslips, no auto-enrolment assessment, awkward beyond a couple of employees). Among real products, FreeAgent includes PAYE and RTI payroll at no extra cost (£0 (included)); FreeAgent itself is £33/mo (or free w/ NatWest). BrightPay's old free tier for up to 3 employees ended with its desktop product; its cloud version is paid from the first employee. Free tools are fine for a director-only or micro payroll; once you need robust auto-enrolment, statutory pay and employee self-service, a paid plan is worth it.

What is RTI payroll, and what is an FPS?

RTI (Real Time Information) is the system every UK employer must use to report pay, tax and National Insurance to HMRC on or before each payday under PAYE. The main submission is the FPS (Full Payment Submission), which tells HMRC what you paid each employee and the tax and NI deducted. You may also send an EPS (Employer Payment Summary) to claim reductions, such as statutory pay recovery, or to report a nil payment. All HMRC-recognised payroll software files the FPS and EPS for you automatically.

What is pension auto-enrolment, and which software handles it?

Auto-enrolment is the legal duty to automatically enrol eligible staff (aged 22 to State Pension age earning over £10,000) into a workplace pension and contribute. Good payroll software assesses each employee every pay run, enrols them, calculates contributions, and sends data to the pension provider. NEST, The People's Pension and Smart Pension are the common schemes. BrightPay, Sage Payroll, Xero, QuickBooks, FreeAgent, Staffology and the global providers all handle auto-enrolment.

What does HMRC-recognised mean for payroll software?

HMRC-recognised means the software has been tested by HMRC and confirmed to file RTI submissions (FPS and EPS) correctly, and it appears on the GOV.UK Find payroll software list. It is not an endorsement of quality, but it does mean the tool can legally report PAYE to HMRC. Every product in our comparison is HMRC-recognised. Avoid any payroll tool that cannot file RTI to HMRC.

Do I need payroll software for just one employee, or as a company director?

If you pay yourself a salary through your own limited company, you are an employer and must run PAYE and file RTI, even for a single director. You can use HMRC Basic PAYE Tools for free, but most directors prefer simple software (FreeAgent includes it free) because it produces payslips, handles your auto-enrolment assessment correctly, and generates your P60. For a one-director, one-salary setup, a free or sub-£12 a month tool is plenty.

Which payroll software handles CIS (the Construction Industry Scheme)?

CIS applies if you are a contractor or subcontractor in construction: you must deduct and report CIS amounts alongside payroll. BrightPay (CIS module free), Sage Payroll, Xero, QuickBooks, KashFlow, FreeAgent and Staffology all support CIS. Most global EOR providers (Deel, Remote, Payoneer) do not focus on CIS, so if you run construction payroll, choose a UK specialist with explicit CIS support.

What payroll software do I need for my business?

It depends on size and setup. Director-only or micro: FreeAgent (free). Small UK team under 10: BrightPay, KashFlow, Sage Payroll, or Xero/QuickBooks Payroll if you already use that accounting software. Construction: a CIS-capable specialist such as BrightPay, Sage or KashFlow. Scale-ups wanting automation and self-service: Employment Hero. Hiring abroad or paying contractors: Deel or Remote for global payroll and EOR. 50 or more employees wanting it fully outsourced: a managed bureau such as Moorepay.

Can I run payroll myself, or do I need an accountant?

You can run payroll yourself with HMRC-recognised software, and most small employers do. The software calculates tax, National Insurance, pension and statutory pay, files RTI, and produces payslips and P60s. You may want an accountant or bureau when payroll gets complex (high headcount, CIS, frequent leavers and joiners, employment-law questions) or when you would rather outsource it entirely, for example to Moorepay or to an EOR provider like Deel or Remote for overseas staff.

What is the difference between BrightPay and Sage Payroll?

BrightPay has been cloud-only since the 2026/27 tax year, paid monthly or a year in advance, with its price set by headcount through a calculator on its own site rather than a published rate card; the CIS module and auto-enrolment are included, and it is consistently the top-rated UK payroll tool (Capterra 4.9 out of 5). Sage Payroll is a monthly subscription (£12/mo (Essentials, 5 emp) plus £2.40/emp/mo (6-10) on Essentials) with core HR, leave and timesheets bundled, deep Sage Accounting integration, and strong UK phone support, but it scores lower on reviews (around 4.1). Because BrightPay prices only through its calculator, we do not cost it in our table: compare the two at your own headcount using BrightPay's calculator and the Sage row above. BrightPay wins on satisfaction; Sage wins if you want the Sage ecosystem and live phone support.

What statutory payments must UK payroll software calculate?

Statutory Sick Pay (SSP), Statutory Maternity Pay (SMP), Statutory Paternity Pay (SPP), Statutory Adoption Pay and Shared Parental Pay. HMRC-recognised software checks eligibility and amounts, applies them in the pay run, and lets you reclaim recoverable amounts through the EPS. All the UK specialists in our comparison handle SSP, SMP and SPP.

Can global providers like Deel run UK PAYE?

Yes. Deel and Remote both run UK payroll. If you have your own UK entity, Deel Global Payroll runs native UK PAYE and RTI from around £22 per employee a month, and Remote is officially HMRC-recognised. If you do not have a UK entity, they employ staff for you through Employer of Record (EOR), at around £448/emp/mo per employee a month plus salary and employer National Insurance. EOR is the fast way to hire in the UK or abroad without setting up a company; native payroll is cheaper once you have your own entity.

Browse all Payroll Software in our directory

Popular Payroll Software comparisons

Independent, side by side breakdowns of the matchups merchants ask about most.

Best Payroll Software for your business

Ranked picks for specific business types, with our live cost calculator.

Payroll Software pricing guides

What each provider actually charges, plan by plan, with cheaper alternatives.

Not sure which payroll software is right for your business?

Our team can help you evaluate your options based on your team size, RTI and pension auto-enrolment needs, CIS, and whether you want HR built in.